Hometown Pride

I’ve never been one to gush about my hometown. It isn’t a town from a Norman Rockwell painting. It isnt historic or charming, but I have spent my whole life here not counting the 3 years I lived in Santa Cruz for college. My hometown is Chula Vista, CA. Just south of San Diego. I usually tell people it’s the last stop before Mexico. (Only about 8 exits away). Chula Vista can be split into two parts…. East and West…. New and Old. I grew up in Eastlake. A planned community built in the late 80’s in the then undeveloped eastern side of Chula Vista. As the years went by, the community grew around us and more planned communities and developments were built bringing luxuries like Target, Walmart, and even a Mall to our sleepy stepford community. Maybe it was the angsty teenager in me that continued to nag that where I’m from wasn’t anything special, but as I have grown up, I have found my heart becoming more attached to the community I once despised.

I decided to write this post based on the fact that today at noon PT the EastLake Little League team will be playing Great Lakes in the Little League World Series and I couldnt be more proud of these kids from my hometown.

In the last few years, Chula Vista and Eastlake have made nationwide news for so many great reasons, but more importantly, it has showcased the great people that come from my hometown and their many talents. Here are a few reasons I am proud to live in Chula Vista:

1. Having one of three United States Olympic Training Center Campuses and the first U.S. Olympic Committee training center to be master-planned from the ground up. (Opened in 1995)

2. Actor Mario Lopez was born in San Diego and graduated from Chula Vista High School in 1991.

3. First Baseman Adrian Gonzalez (now a Dodger) was the first overall pick in the 2000 MLB Draft and graduated from Eastlake High School in 2000.

4. Chula Vista (Park View) Little League Winning the 2009 LLWS.

5. According to a survey conducted by the Vera Institute of Justice in New York, Chula Vista Police Department was the highest ranked police station in the United States in 2012.

6. Jessica Sanchez being Runner-Up on American Idol in 2012.

7. Chula Vista has been ranked one of the safest city and most recently ranked 10th in the 20 Most Crime-Free Cities in America.

8. Chula Vista (Eastlake) Little League Making it to the 2013 LLWS.

Leave a Reply

